2016 British Boxing Awards

2016 – all told – has been another mammoth year for British boxing. 2017 looks to be even bigger & better with at least one stadium event pending – the key word here I believe is growth – British boxing has seen consistent growth since around 2012; not coincidentally when this year’s Promoter of the Year, Eddie Hearn, became a promoter of record & the behemoth SkySports put their ore in exclusively with the most professional boxing promotional outfit in the land.

Hearn’s commitment to offering value for money to broadcaster & consumer/fan alike is spelt out by two of my three fights of the year being on under-cards of major PPV events.

Fast Facts of the British Boxing Landscape in 2016

982 active professional boxers in the UK as of 23/12/2016. 800 of these fighters possess winning records. 445 or 45.32% of all of Britain’s 982 active professional boxers are currently undefeated.

Division/Number of Active Pros/Number of winning records/Number of undefeated fighters as of 23/12/2016.

Heavyweight 39/35/17
Cruiserweight 58/48/25
Light heavyweight 90/68/44
Super middleweight 57/42/24
Middleweight 116/97/54
Junior middleweight 105/84/46
Welterweight 129/105/57
Junior welterweight 116/92/54
Lightweight 95/74/42
Super Featherweight 57/52/24
Featherweight 35/32/19
Super Bantamweight 25/22/14
Bantamweight 32/26/13
Super Flyweight 17/13/9
Flyweight 11/10/3
Junior Flyweight 0
Strawweight 0

Fighter of the Year

Carl Frampton

Runner Up: Tony Bellew

Third Place: Callum Smith

Fight of the Year

Dillian Whyte vs. Dereck Chisora

Runner Up: Gennady Golovkin vs. Kell Brook

Third Place: Hosea Burton vs. Frank Buglioni

Performance of the Year

Craig Cunningham vs. Anthony Ogogo

Runner Up: Anthony Crolla vs. Ismael Barroso

Third Place: Khalid Yafai vs. Luis Concepcion

Knockout of the Year

 Joe Murray vs. Rashid Kassem

Runner Up: Callum Smith vs. Luke Blackledge

Third Place: Tony Bellew vs. Makabu

New Sensation of the Year

Andrew Selby

Runner Up: Ryan Burnett

Third Place: Josh Taylor

Career Comeback of the Year

Luke Campbell

Runner Up: Nathan Cleverly

Third Place: Jack Arnfield

Trainer of the Year

Shane McGuigan

Runner Up: Joe Gallagher

Third Place: Dave Coldwell

Promoter of the Year

Eddie Hearn

Runner Up: Steve Goodwin

Third Place: Steve Wood

Manager of the Year

Matthew Macklin

Runner Up: Barry McGuigan

Third Place: Steve Goodwin

Broadcast Personality of the Year

Johnny Nelson

Runner Up: Ed Robinson

Third Place: Dave Coldwell

Social Media Personality of the Year

Kugan Cassius

Runner Up: Eddie Hearn

Third Place: James Helder